ARC Review: "Society of Wishes" (Wish Quartet #1) by Elise Kova & Lynn Larsh

Society of Wishes by Elise Kova
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary from GoodReads

First book in the Wish Quartet, a new-adult, urban fantasy series


Josephina Espinosa makes her living as a hacker-for-hire in the Lone Star Republic, a remnant of the fractured U.S.A. That is, until the day she and her best friend are gunned down in a government raid.

With her dying breath, Jo uses magical lore passed down from her grandmother to summon a wish-granter. Her wish? To save her friend’s life. Except wishes have costs, and for Jo, the price is the erasure of her entire mortal existence.

Now, as the most recent addition to the mysterious Society of Wishes, Jo must form a new “life” alongside the seven other members, one of which being her savior himself. Living as an occupant of the Society’s lavish mansion should be quite the perk, but while it is furnished with everything its inhabitants could possibly need, it lacks one thing—freedom.

Her otherworldly identity crisis takes a backseat, however, when Jo learns that the friend she sacrificed everything for is headed down the same path to ruin. Jumping in head-first, Jo uses her newfound magical abilities to protect him, only to realize that the ripples of her actions have far-reaching consequences. When the Society’s aloof leader Snow decides to give her a taste of his own ancient magic, Jo discovers that there are threads woven into the tapestry of her new reality that reach far beyond the wishes she is now required to grant. Ones that, if tugged on, could mean the unraveling of the world itself.




I received an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

The first part of a quartet of books was a delightful collaboration between two authors! Elise Kova and Lynn Larsh manage to create a worldbuilding good enough in order to support the upcoming books. Jo is a hacker who lives in a world which has suffered the Third WW.

She makes do by taking on jobs that are dangerous along with her friend Yuusuke. When a job leads them both to their deaths Jo will invoke the power of a man (being?) strong enough to grant her a wish. And thus Jo begins her new life as a member of the Society of Wishes.

There is a good and diverse cast which will appeal even to the most demanding. Truly this book was a journey through time, space and the multiverse, as Jo tried to understand her new powers and make new friends. I really liked Wayne and Elsar and I can't wrap my mind around Snow and who he really is.

The good part is that all the books will be published on 2018 so I won't have time to wonder for long! As a new attempt for Elise to step into the urban fantasy, time travel genre she made it quite well. And for Lynn to debut through this series, I truly can't wait to also read more from her!

About the authors:

Elise Kova is the USA Today bestselling author of the Air Awakens series, Loom Saga, and Wish Quartet.

In her past lives, she has graduated from an MBA program, lived in Japan for a bit, and worked for a Fortune 500 technology company. However, she finds herself much happier in her current reincarnation as full-time author. When not writing, she can usually be found playing video games, drawing, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She’s happy to call Saint Petersburg, Florida, her home, but is always looking forward to her next trip.

Lynn Larsh considers herself to be a serial hobby-dabbler. She got a bachelors degree in music (which she used for all of four months), studied aerial acrobatics and classical piano for many years, worked briefly as a stunt woman in a Wild West stunt show (it's a long story), and eventually settled down into the bar tending business in St. Petersberg, FL. When she's not acting as a purveyor of fine libations, you can find her diving head first into her newest venture as a New Adult author, or simply writing Voltron fan fiction on Archive of Our Own.

Currently, Lynn is looking forward to her debut novel, SOCIETY OF WISHES (Wish Quartet, #1), out January 2018.

No comments