Monday, May 11, 2015

Review: "A Court of Thorns and Roses" (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Summary from GoodReads

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


BUY ON AMAZON (click the cover for more details)





REVIEW

 One year of waiting and FINALLY the book got into my lovely grabby hands!!! Srah J Maas, is simply A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!
She actually write a story in which the elements of YA and NA are bordering each other! But let's take it from the beginning.


I have mentioned in many reviews, and gifs, that any retelling of "Beauty and the Beast" is absolutely a favorite. But in this Fae version don't expect the Disney type. All the plot fell more to the original novel of Beauty and the Beast by Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont which was published in 1756. Adding to that all the magic the beauty and the description of Sarah we get a new story full of mystery and swoony-worth romance.

The plot had a good sense of start, middle and ending. Feyre kills a wolf into the forest and retribution comes in the face of a furry, clawed beast who wiskes her from her family and home into the world of Fae. There she realizes that everyone wears a mask and the Beast is none other than Tamlin the Fae with powers and secrets.

Feyre was a strong willed heroine. Apart from the point in which she had low self-esteem, since no one ever cared for her, she excels on her witty nature, her funny discussions with Lucien and her feelings for Tamlin. Even her courage towards the last part of the book is admirable.

Tamlin was one of the best surprises (yes Tika, your husband is safe from me!). As the one who has power he has to bear the burden of his choices and live through lies and deception. He is supportive and helps Feyre in every way he can, both on showing her how precious she is as a person and with his feelings towards her. His description is also pretty cool and I can prove it with a fanart pic of him from Tumblr! Plus, despite his secrets he is strong and a warrior.


Lucien was also a surprise. His backstory was sad, which reminded me highly of Rowan from "Throne of Glass" series (you know which book i mean). He is sarcastic with a fox mask, go figure, and he helps Feyre, even if he despises humans.

In general the ending of the book lef some problems unsolved with an emotional breakdown for Feyre and the possibility of more interfering in her relationship with Tamlin. But it was a great read, refreshing and based on my all time favorites.
But after finishing the book, I was left struck with loss. How will I stand it until May 2016 for the second book?




 DON'T MISS THE RST OF THE BOOKS ON THIS AMAZING SERIES! (click the covers for more details)







About the author:

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she's not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion