Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Reviews in Minor: Books I read and loved in the end of March & beginning of April


Hello everyone! The past week I had gone quiet due to the fact that here we had the Easter holidays and I need sleep. And had to study for my Masters papers. Apparently, my reviews fell back, so I'm gathering all together here!

April also has so far amazing books, which I can't wait to read, not to mention the tiles I've been struggling to finish from March!


Without further ado here you go!






Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. 

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.




BUY ON



REVIEW

The new contemporary novel by Mary Choi was a very nice surprise! It is filled with a nostalgia for human contact which had become more and more less due to technology. Yet both Penny and Sam who both have more problems that they can count and no adult to depend on to, find solace in each other and from their tentative friendship, love blossoms.

It's a heartfelt and very realistic story for anyone who struggles and wants to find that particular emergency contact they carve to have.




About the author:

Hi pals. The big news is that MY BOOK IS OUT on Simon & Schuster. It's a YA novel called Emergency Contact. Please visit your local pulp purveyor to purchase
Read an excerpt on EW.com
Or check out my triumphant return to the number one show on late night! Desus & Mero 
Or read this super-righteous STARRED review on Publisher's Weekly. AND this very swoon-worthy mind-meld in the Atlantic. Or perhaps THE NEW YORK TIMESNylon more your speed? WHADDABOUT the Verge? Meow. 
Plus, some appearances! 
On April 20, 21 I'm at The North Texas Teen Book Festival
The LA Times Festival of Books on the 22nd! 
******AIIIR HOOOOORN: PLUSSSS!!! Come to my Official Los Angeles Book Launch with the legendary Bobby Kim of The Hundreds. All Kreens all day. RSVP (it's free)
Check out some other things I have written here. Watch some things I've made here. And sign up for my podcast here
Also, find me @choitotheworld for more updates!







Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads


Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?
 





BUY ON



REVIEW

I really enjoyed Heart of Iron. In fact, I was very surprised how Ashley Poston jumped from the contemporary Cinderella retelling to sci-fi! And she did a fine job, outlining a religious class-based world where AI are treated with prejudice and we have also politics and secrets.

Ana and Di were the best ones, not that I didn't like the ship crew or the romance between the prince and...I'll let you guess that. ;)

But the ending? I had a while to be surprised by a cliffhanger and I was in the end. Despite the fact that in some cases the romance felt too quick to develop and how from I point on, I personally had found out the villain, it does not derive from the book the sci-fi element, the adventure and the amazing characters!





About the author:

Ashley Poston’s is a part-time author and full-time fangirl. She was born in rural South Carolina, where you can see the stars impossibly well... 

Tweet her at @ashposton and read her inner-most rambles at www.ashposton.com.














Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads

When gunslinging Amani Al'Hiza escaped her dead-end town, she never imagined she'd join a revolution, let alone lead one. But after the bloodthirsty Sultan of Miraji imprisoned the Rebel Prince Ahmed in the mythical city of Eremot, she doesn't have a choice. Armed with only her revolver, her wits, and her untameable Demdji powers, Amani must rally her skeleton crew of rebels for a rescue mission through the unforgiving desert to a place that, according to maps, doesn't exist. As she watches those she loves most lay their lives on the line against ghouls and enemy soldiers, Amani questions whether she can be the leader they need or if she is leading them all to their deaths.






BUY ON



REVIEW


The amazing ending to this spectacular series couldn't have been better! Amani and co must battle not only the Sultan but also the outside of their borders forces which want to destroy their homeland. I truly enjoyed every part of it, even the tragic ones. And I'm referring to THAT scene towards the ending which had me bawling like a baby!

Jin was also one of my favorites! Even that Djinn under the mountain with its tragic story that drove him mad. And the best part is that everyone is always moving, always searching for more ways to help their home become free of the Sultan. Also, I need to mention that the scene with the ship and the desert was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!




About the author:

Alwyn's New York Times-bestselling debut, the YA fantasy REBEL OF THE SANDS, was published by Viking Children's Books in the U.S. and Faber Children's Books in the U.K., and in Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Israel, Turkey, the Czech Republic, Serbia, Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, and Iran. Its sequel, TRAITOR TO THE THRONE, was published in spring 2017. Alwyn was named the 2016 Goodreads Choice Award winner for Best Debut Author.