Wattpad Works

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

2 Sweet Sized Reviews: "In Real Life" by Jessica Love & "Tell Me Three Things" by Julie Buxbaum

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Summary from GoodReads

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.
“Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page
 Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?



BUY ON AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY


REVIEW

If I had to consider one of the cutest contemporaries I have read so far, "Tell me Three things" would be the IT! The story follows Jessie who after the death of her mother she moves into her new stepmom's house together with her father. She'll have to deal with the grief she feels, her new enviroment and the mysterious SN (Somebody Nobody) who sends her e-mails in order to help Jessie in this new enviroment.



To be honest I didn't realize how quickly I read the book. If felt so good to be in Jessie's head, feeling her grief and the way she tries to see everything around her. All the secondary characters were also pretty well written and the identity of SN was revealed in a very funny way.

I really hope the author will write more in this genre; she has the potential for that! ;)



About the author:

Please check out my website www.juliebuxbaum.com for more information about my books.

Or to follow my recent shenanigans, please check out my blog, JULIE HAS WRITER'S BLOG, at www.juliebuxbaum.com/blog/

One of my favorite things about being a novelist is the opportunity to talk to reading groups. If you are part of a reading group and would like to set up a conference call, or maybe even a meeting in person, please check out the reading group form and the reading group guide on my website.








In Real Life by Jessica Love
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary from GoodReads

Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since 8th grade. They talk for hours on the phone, regularly shower each other with presents, and know everything there is to know about one another.

There's just one problem: Hannah and Nick have never actually met.

Hannah has spent her entire life doing what she's supposed to, but when her senior year spring break plans get ruined by a rule-breaker, she decides to break a rule or two herself. She impulsively decides to road trip to Las Vegas, her older sister and BFF in tow, to surprise Nick and finally declare her more-than-friend feelings for him.

Hannah's surprise romantic gesture backfires when she gets to Vegas and finds out that Nick has been keeping some major secrets. Hannah knows the real Nick can't be that different from the online Nick she knows and loves, but now she only has night in Sin City to figure out what her feelings for Nick really are, all while discovering how life can change when you break the rules every now and then.



BUY ON AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITOTY


REVIEW

What can I say about this book? It was a tangle of emotions, very funny moments and Las Vegas!! I really wonder how any teen can live in that city! Not to mention that from beginning to end, I couldn't stop laughing!

Hannah and Nick know each other since they were in 8th grade. But they have never met each other face to face. After being introduced from their older siblings, they grew into each other as friends. When Hannah decideds to go into a road trip with her sister and her friend in order to finally meet Nick, she will come into many relevations and she will learn that nothing is as it appears.



Now the missing star goes to the fact that Hannah and Nick became friends though social media. True, technology has taken up many parts of our lives but you can't just blow up everything and go into another city to meet someone who you know only through a screen. Not to mention that Hannah didn't tell her parents, not even her older sister.

Despite that, Las Vegas as a background was a really good setting. I know about the city only through TV and Movies so I wasn't that ignorant. The ending was very satisfying and I seriously would love to read more from this author! :)




About the author:

Jessica Love is a high school English teacher who lives in Southern California with her husband and their two tiny dogs. She's working on her Master's Degree in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Spalding University, and her big love is contemporary YA romance. Jessica spends all of her free money on concerts, constantly tries to prove that blondes have more fun, and is pretty much always on the internet.

IN REAL LIFE will be released from St. Martin's/Thomas Dunne on March 1, 2016. Co-written with Chelsie Hill from Sundance Channel's reality TV show Push Girls, Jessica's debut novel PUSH GIRL is available now.


Website

Twitter